List of PS4 games that’ll get a free upgrade for PS5

By Rafay Faheem 21 Sep, 20

Are you still unsure about what games out of your PS4 library are coming to the PS5? We’ve compiled a list of all the games that have been confirmed to get a free next-generation upgrade so that you can rest easy not to rebuy them on the PS5 if you already own them on the PS4.

All the titles listed below will have some kind of optimizations that warrant the jump of a “next-gen” upgrade. These optimizations might be visual or performance-based, or both. Although you have to keep in mind that these upgrades do not mean the same thing as backwards compatibility for the PS5. What the free upgrade means is that if you own the game on PS4, it’ll let you transfer over the game to your PS5 as well.
Here is the list:
●     Cyberpunk 2077
●     Dead by Daylight
●     Destiny 2
●     DIRT 5
●     Doom Eternal
●     Far Cry 6
●     FIFA 21
●     Hitman 3
●     Horizon Forbidden West
●     Immortals Fenyx Rising
●     Kena: Bridge of Spirits
●     Madden NFL 21
●     Marvel’s Avengers
●     Marvel’s Spiderman: Miles Morales
●     Monster Boy and the Cursed Kingdom
●     NBA 2K21
●     Riders Republic
●     Sackboy: A Big Adventure
●     Tom Clancy’s Rainbow Six: Siege
●     The Elder Scrolls Online
●     The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt
●     Watch Dogs Legion
●     WRC 9
These free game upgrades are a bit more complicated than just making sure that the game you own on a PS4 will automatically be available for you on the PS5. Some games require you to buy them digitally on the PS4 which would grant you the digital version on the PS5 as well. While others need to make sure that your Physical PS4 disc version of the game is present with you so you can play it on the PS5. This essentially means that if you go for a PS5 digital edition, you might not be able to take advantage of some of the next-gen upgrades especially if you have physical versions of the game.